Top 5 Most Frequently Asked Questions About Measure 91

Nearly forty-two years after Oregon became the first state to decriminalize marijuana, the state will officially begin implementing measure 91 this week, making Oregon the fourth state to adopt laws legalizing recreational use of cannabis for people over the age of 21.

Although legal cannabis sales aren’t expected to begin until late 2016, there is talk of established dispensaries like ours being able to sell as early as October 2015.  

We've been receiving questions every day about this newly-implemented measure, so we've compiled the most frequently asked questions and the answers below.  Hope this helps-- there's much to learn!

What does Measure 91 do?

Measure 91 allows Oregonians to grow limited amounts of marijuana on their property and to possess personal limited amounts of recreational marijuana for personal use beginning July 1, 2015 under Oregon law.

The measure also gives OLCC authority to tax, license and regulate recreational marijuana grown, sold, or processed for commercial purposes. The OLCC does not regulate the home grow/personal possession provisions of the law.

What impact does Measure 91 have on the current Medical Marijuana Program?

None. Measure 91 states that the “Act may not be construed … to amend or affect in any way the Oregon Medical Marijuana Act.”  Many people are wondering if they need to get a new OMMP card or new their existing one, and the answer given by OLCC about that is "only you as an individual can determine answer that question."

What is the difference between recreational marijuana and medical marijuana?

Medical marijuana is for patients with qualifying medical conditions. Recreational marijuana, whether grown at a residence or obtained from a licensed retail outlet, is for personal use for adults 21 years of age or older. For more information on medical marijuana see www.mmj.oregon.gov

How much pot can Oregonians possess?

Adults 21 and over can have four plants per residence in Oregon.  An overview of cannabis product possession limits:

  • Cannabis Flower - Up to 8 oz per household and up to 1 oz in public
  • Solid edibles -  Up to 16 oz 
  • Liquid edibles - Up to 72 oz 
  • Concentrates/extracts - Up to 1 oz 
  • Topicals/salves - Up to 16 oz 

To get an idea of what each quantity looks like, watch Pure Green marijuana dispensary owner, Matt Walstatter, explain in the video below:

Where will the tax money go?

Measure 91 provides distribution of revenue after costs to the following:

• 40 percent to Common School Fund

• 20 percent to Mental Health Alcoholism and Drug Services

• 15 percent to State Police

• 10 percent to Cities for enforcement of the measure

• 10 percent to Counties for enforcement of the measure

• 5 percent to Oregon Health Authority for alcohol and drug abuse prevention

If your question is not found here, check out the What's Legal Oregon website for more information, or take a look at the PDF of Frequently Asked Questions.